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Florida Housing Finance Corporation

$18.4 billion in
First Mortgage 141,600+ home

Assistance )
since 2003 loans since 1982

Established via $1.1 billion in

Chapter 420 of the Down Payment
Florida Statutes Assistance since
2004

2023 Live Local Act, the largest investment for housing efforts

in state history. Codified the Hometown Heroes program
to offer $100 Million dollars in down payment assistance
funds along with other affordable housing programs.




Florida Housing Finance Corporation

“Your State Housing Finance Agency”

Federal and state statutory authority to implement certain programs.
Programs are available throughout the entire state as opposed to local
jurisdictions, counties or markets. With more available resources, we can
offer more flexibility and a wider variety of programs (ex: Hometown
Heroes).

Contact: (850) 488-4197

Email: dpa@floridahousing.org
for the Single-Family Department



mailto:dpa@floridahousing.org

State/County/City Resources

Florida Housing Finance Corporation is a State Housing Finance Agency (HFA). There
are some Counties within the State of Florida and have their own Housing Finance
Agency programs. Also, there are over 120 programs that receive SHIP funding.

State - Florida Housing Finance Corporation
Funds are available in any City or County within the State of Florida

County - Local HFA & SHIP
Funds are typically restricted to Geographical County Limits.

City - Local Programs
Funds are typically restricted to Geographical City Limits




Pre-Qualification Before You Look At Housing

£ Bond

®
Just like every other loan, the loan officer
will review your income vs your debt to
calculate the maximum mortgage payment
the borrower can qualify for.

| The current interest rates will determine the
; mortgage amount they qualify for. h
Finally determine if the you are eligible fora |
first mortgage with DPA
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The loan officer will then look at your 13
Assets (savings) to determine the amount

of funds needed based on the loan type
(Conventional, FHA, USDA or VA).
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Homebuyer Education

Partial List of Online Providers:

This is a partial list of Online Providers who will issue a certificate upon completion. This training
should be completed before the loan is reserved with Florida Housing.

Arch MI https://www.housingeducation.org/pathways
eHomeAmerica https://www.ehomeamerica.org/

Essent MI https://centerforhomeownership.net/homepath/register
Fannie Mae https://homeready.frameworkhomeownership.org/
Freddie Mac https://creditsmarttutorial.freddiemaclearning.com/

Florida Housing does not endorse any of the providers but only gives this as a tool for loan officers to
quickly find providers. Links may not be current due to consistent changes with web pages. Some of
these Online Providers charge fees to obtain access to these courses.
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What Are Your Next Steps?

Once a pre-approval is established these are the next steps:
Contact a real estate agent
Find a home at or below the pre-approved amount

Execute a real estate purchase contract. This will involve putting down an
earnest money deposit (EMD)

This money is held in escrow by the title company. This money is credited
to your total out of pocket due on closing day. If the financing falls through
you will get that money back if you meet the terms of the sales contract




What Are Your Next Steps?

Your lender will now complete a full application (if not done as part of your
pre-approval)

You will be asked to supply supporting documentation. At a minimum you
will be asked to supply your last 2 years of W2’s, last two pay stubs and
last 2 months of bank statements

A full credit check is done at this point, and a loan commitment is given




What Are Your Next Steps?

Next, you or your real estate agent will schedule a home inspection

An inspector will let you know of any defects that he finds in the home. Do
not let someone talk you out of having this inspection done!

This is another upfront cost that is not part of the closing fees. The fee
varies throughout the state but generally ranges between $500-$700

If the home is discovered to have many defects and the seller is not willing
or able to make the repairs, most contract will let you cancel the deal and
get your EMD back.

Find another home.




What Are Your Next Steps?

Next, your lender will order an appraisal
This ensures the home is worth what your agreed purchase price

At this stage your file is in processing. Do not be surprised if you are asked for
additional documentation to support your loan file

Once you are through this stage you will be on your way to your closing day

The day finally arrives—CLOSING DAY. If additional personal funds are
required to fund your loan, you will have wired funds to the title company or
bring a cashiers check to closing. You will officially sign your many, many loan
documents (always read the note(s)) and get the keys to your new home




How To Find A Lender

You will need to contact one of our trained and approved Loan Officers.

There are over 2,000 loan officers located through the State of Florida working for
200+ different approved Lenders.

Use our Homebuyer Wizard for quick access: https://apps.floridahousing.org/

StandAlone/FTHBWizard
‘)
Homebuyer Loan Programs! ) 4,, (/)'(/
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Select one of our four different Down Payment Assistance loan programs.

Explore cur Down Payment Assistance Pregrams (DPA)
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Homebuyer Loan Programs //)V(//'(/
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Scroll down until you see Participating Lenders and click the button “Find a Lender”.

The contact information for the loan officers that serve the county you've chosen is
located here.

Participating Lendiers
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Brind a Lender
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* (SP) indicates a Spanish speaking lender. A Trophy below the LO's name indicates a
Top Producer in our program.

Call and email one of these approved Loan Officers
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Borrower Requirements

Must be a First Time Homebuyer (some exceptions apply)

Must complete the Home Buyer Education Requirement

Must satisfy the Program’s Income and Sales Price/Loan limits

Must be able to qualify for a mortgage. This means there
will be Credit Underwriting requirements very specific to
FHA, USDA-RD, VA, Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac that must
be satisfied first.

Maximum Debt to Income Ratio (DTI)
Government or Conventional for 50%

: Jo]s[E[R

Florida Housing requires a minimum 640 FICO score for
all program loans.

E3
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First Time Homebuyer Defined

Do not own the home they
currently live in?

Have not owned AND occupied
a primary residence within the

past three (3) years.

Ex: BUYER can own a property
but can not have lived in it as
their primary residence at any
time in the past three years.

W IRS

Department of the Treasury
Internal Revenue Service

Do not claim their mobile home
as real property (it’s on rented
lot/land).

Will occupy the property as a
primary residence within 60
days of closing
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Eligible Property Types

Existing, new (Construction-End
loans but not (Construction-Perm
loans), detached single family
homes, condominiums, up to 4-unit
properties (the buyer must occupy
one unit as primary residence), and
town homes. Also, manufactured
homes and land are allowable.
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Down Payment Myth

You must put down 20% to purchase a home

1) FHA: 3 2% downpayment required
2) Conventional Loans: 3% downpayment required
3) VA: 0% requires downpayment required

4) USDA: 0% downpayment required

Closing costs average 4% to 6% of the purchase price




Down Payment Assistance Loans

DPA in General

Grants - do not have to be paid back (very few non-repayable grant programs exist)
Forgiveness - % of the Down Payment Assistance over time
Deferred - Due back when an action occurs, or loan matures (10, 15, 20 or 30 years)

Loan - An actual Loan with an interest rate and term of payment

All DPA with Florida Housing

ONLY ONE Down Payment Assistance (DPA) from Florida Housing is allowed
Loan Officer can “LAYER” local City/County (DPA) on top of Florida Housing
DPA

Title Insurance is NOT ALLOWED on DPA—saves you $$

Be sure the Loan Officer is communicating the repayment terms of the Down

Payment Assistance (DPA) Loan

ALL DPA repaid is used to assist another Buyer in need!




Down Payment Assistance Loans

“Florida Assist” - Deferred
Provides up to $10,000.00 in funds for down payment and closing cost assistance
for our Government Loans (FHA, VA, and USDA) and Conventional Loans (Fannie
Mae and Freddie Mac).

0% interest rate, with no monthly payments, recorded 2nd Mortgage, deferred
principal until sale, refinance, transfer of deed, the home is no longer their primary
residence or maturity of mortgage (30 years) - always repaid, not a grant. Not
forgiven.

Can be used with the “Bond Loans” or the TBA Non-Bond Loans.

“Florida HLP” - Loan
Provides up to $10,000.00 in funds for down payment and closing cost assistance

3% fixed-interest rate amortized over 15 years with a monthly payment of $69.06,
recorded 2nd Mortgage, loan balance due upon principal sale, refinance, transfer of
deed, or the home is no longer their primary residence-always repaid, not a grant.
Not forgiven.

Can be used with the “Bond Loans” or the TBA Non-Bond Loans.
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Down Payment Assistance Loans

“Florida PLUS” - Forgiveness
Provides borrowers with a 3/4/5% of the mortgage amount, forgivable 2nd mortgage over
5 years (20% per year). 0% interest rate, no payments, recorded 2nd Mortgage,
unforgiven balance due upon principal sale, refinance, transfer of deed or the home is no
longer their primary residence.

Unforgiven balance percentage (%) is based on the anniversary of the Purchase Date.
Ex. $10,000 in DPA, Property sold 3.5 years from the purchase date. Forgivable amount
would be $6,000 (3 years x 20% per year=60% of $10,000) and Unforgiven amount
would be $4,000 (40% of $10,000). CANNOT be used with the “Bond Loans”. Only
available with the TBA Non-Bond Loans.

“Florida Hometown Heroes” - Deferred

Provides up to 5% of the Total Mortgage amount (not to exceed $35,000) in funds for

down payment and closing cost assistance. 0% interest rate, with no monthly

payments, recorded as a 2nd Mortgage, deferred principal until sale, refinance,

HOMETOWN transfer of deed, the home is no longer their primary residence or maturity of

mortgage (30 years)-always repaid, not a grant. Not forgiven. Can be used with the
H E Ro Es TBA Hometown Heroes loan program only. Payments are not required but the

Borrower can make payments.

Example:
$35,000 DPA loan/360 payments (12 monthly payments * 30 years + $97.22/month)
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Hometown Heroes Eligibility

Veteran

« Veteran, Active Military, Widow of
Veteran with COE (VA loan only.)

* Occupation doesn’t matter.

* Retired is ok.

« DD-214, COE, or Verification of
Active Duty.

OR

|

Florida Based Employer

* Must work for an employer that is a FL Based company, meaning the employer must have a
“brick and mortar” location in FL.

« Must work full time. Note: Retired is not eligible as they are not working full time. SE buyers
would need to have their company registered through Sunbiz.org or provide their most
recent 1099 to qualify.

» Verification of Employment signed by Employer stating works full time.
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Income Limits-Miami Dade County

Miami-Dade 1-2 Person 3+ Person

County Household Household
Bond* $113,500 $130,525
TBA with FL Assist $130,525 $136,200

TBA with FLHLP or FL $158,900 $158,900

Plus

Hometown Heroes $170,250 $170,250

*ALL Household Income




Miami-Dade HTH Families Assisted

HTH Amount
$35,157,484

Families Served

1,715

1st Mortgage
$703,889,419

MIAMI-DADE $35,157,484

County County Size HTH Amount Average HTH Amount Median 1st Mortgage Average 1st Mortgage Median
MIAMI-DADE Large $20,500 $20,421 $410,4311 $408,500
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Florida HTH Families Assisted

INDIAN RIVER $2405155 [~ HENDRY 51088835
|
SANTA ROSA S3 366,454 — MIAMI-DADE S35 157484
COLLIER 54106291 —,
MANATEE $4219.676 —.
OKALOOSA S4463607 —.
LECON $4 401,550
AERNANDO $5.400973
ESCAMBIA 85 522 407
o BROWARD $33518031
LAKE §7212633 —
HTH Amount
MARION §7.473.432 — _ $334,752,000
SEMINCLE $7B8748%0 Families Served
21,665 T
OSCEOLA 38111815 1 SBURCUGH
1st Mortgage $20.565.422
BREVARD $8 756,771 — $6,647,967,642
PINELLAS S10.188.5%7

PALMEBEACHSIZ950142
ST LUCIE S1174B938

VOLUSIA 12095419 DUVAL S13.474.348
FASCO S12.248 867

. LEE 12020190
POLK 515877302 —

“— DRANGE 516070 248
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FHFC Homebuyer Loan Team

Charles.White@floridahousing.org
CHIP WHITE,

Sandy.Smith@floridahousing.org
Homebuyer Programs Director

SANDY SMITH,
Program Manager

JaLisa.Maxwell@floridahousing.org
JALISA MAXWELL,

Mark.Pease@floridahousing.org
Program Manager

MARK PEASE,
Business Development Manager

Email questions to: DPA@FLORIDAHOUSING.ORG

www.floridahousing.org

(850) 488-4197
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